Recent songs I’ve been playing

I like Robyn’s “Be Mine”.  Here is a link to her MySpace page she doesn’t have that song up, but her “Handle Me” isn’t bad, and here is a link to her YouTube video.  I only just discovered the video, and I haven’t yet soaked in all the nuances in it. 

I like Sia’s “Buttons” but I’m not very fond of the video.  To me it’s a combination of planned ugliness and trying too hard to be funny in a weird way.  It’s just too much for me.  But the song is good. 

I really like Meiko’s “Reasons to Love You”.  It has the same dreamy quality (to me) as Ray Charles’ rendition of “What a Wonderful World” but it is from a younger viewpoint, and is more exhuberant.  The song is infectious, you can’t help but hum to it.  Here is a link to her MySpace page, where you can hear the song, or you can go to her official site, and listen to her whole album.  Other songs on the album that I like: Heard It All Before, Hiding, Sleep, Said and Done, (This song is quite good, but darker than Reasons to Love You.)  Walk By, (Another excellent song, she’s found her voice in this.  As a woman and an individual I mean.) and Under My Bed. 

Leave a Reply

