My GW Monk “everyday” build

This is what I have found that works for me, for my casual PvE gaming sessions with friends.  I do have to focus when playing, but combined with my hero Tahlkora* I don’t have to do too much.  I have 12 in Healing Prayers,   13 in Divine Favor, 11 in Protection Prayers, and 8 in Smiting Prayers.  Nothing in my Secondary Attributes. 

Weapons: I usually use an Insightful Staff of Healing: +14 energy, 11 – 22 Fire damage, Halves Cast Time of Healing Prayers 20% Chance, Halves Recharge of Spells 20% Chance, +25 Health.  I also have The Yakslapper, Kepkhet’s Refuge, and Riseh’s Wand paired with Healing Ankh: +12 Energy, Halves Cast Time of Healing Prayers 20% Chance, Halves Recharge of Healing Prayers 20% Chance. 

The skills I default (Yes, I do load different skills when they are needed.) load are:

Heal Party – +78 Health (plus Divine favor bonus, ups it to over 100)

Healing Breeze –  +8 Health Regeneration for 15 seconds (plus Divine favor bonus)

Healing Seed – For 10 seconds, whenever target other ally takes damage, that ally and all adjacent allies gains 25 health. (Plus Divine favor bonus)

Mend Condition – Remove one Condition from target other ally. If a Condition is removed, that ally is healed for 53 Health.

Convert Hexes – Remove all hexes from target other ally. For 17 seconds, that ally gains +10 armor for each Necromancer hex that was removed.

Shield of Regeneration – For 11 seconds, target ally gains 8 Health Regeneration and 40 armor.

Resurrection Chant –  Resurrect target party member with up to your current health and 29% Energy.  This spell has half the normal range.  

Resurrection Signet

Tahlkora has: Heaven’s Delight, Aegis, Protective Spirit, Shield of Regeneration, Mend Condition, Remove Hex, Healing Breeze, Resurrection Chant.  She has The Wayward Wand (Protection Prayers) paired with Divine Symbol: +12 Energy, +5 Armor when over 50% health.

I’ll put up a screenshot of my Attributes Menu, which also shows my skill bar, and give details/names as to the skills that are loaded.  I’ll also put up a screenshot showing how I have set up Tahlkora to complement my build.   I’m bragging and putting the Dragon’s Throat screenshot up in this entry.  I am also putting in some screenshots taken during the Ring of Fire mission that I think are HILARIOUS!  (Because I can walk my Monk out into lava, and it won’t kill her, and she’s in tattoos, a coconut bra, and a loincloth, with a cape.)  I wasn’t worried a bit at my health dropping, because my Shield of Regeneration negated the burning.  Lastly, I will put in an image of my monk at level 13 in action, en route to do some quest or another.  (To show what I used before I got my nice elite skills. I need more, but I have a decent amount for how little I play.  I have 19/120 Canthan Elite skills, 13/141 Elonian Elite Skills, and 31/90 Tyrian Elite Skills.)  My Monk is Ascended and defeated the Lich King, Weh no Su and defeated Shiro. I’ve not gone very far into the Elonian storyline with my Monk, because I want to Master the Canthan missions before moving on.  (Either I’m not feeling up to playing lately, or my friends aren’t.  They are the only ones I will group with, I *HATE* PUGS! See definition one if you do not know what it means.)

*Note: When my friends and I did Vizunah Square as Tyrians, I didn’t have a Hero.  I was the sole healer for my group, and when the two groups met up I ended up keeping Master Togo alive also because the other group’s healer quit healing him.  I kept 10 characters alive through that mission!

My GW Monk Attributes:

my-gw-monk-attributes.jpg

My GW Monk’s Tahlkora Attributes:

my-gw-monks-tahlkora-attributes.jpg

Dragon’s Throat Number 3 slot July 30, 2006!

dt-number-3-slot-july-30-06.jpg

Ah, Lava Bath!  (That is Heal Other on my skill bar, for the record.) 

ah-lava-bath.jpg

It BURNS!

it-burns.jpg

Out Questing at level 13.

my-gw-monk-level-13.jpg

ETA: Here are some images of my Monk in “dress” armor, Droknar’s Forge Sacred Armor dyed minty green, I think it was green plus silver dye before they changed the dye system, and took out dye remover.  (Which is runed, and infused just like my Monk’s tattoos are, for the record.)  I put it on when not doing missions or quests.  (Like when doing Holiday games/events.)  Yes, she still has tattoos on her feet.  I didn’t like the look of the sandals on the set, and I think it makes sense to leave tattoos peeking out.  Plus, the foot tattoo stats are better than the sandal stats (at the time I bought my Drok’s Forge armor sets) from the Sacred set, IMO.  Also, those are Droknar’s Forge Woven Handwraps, they are not part of the Sacred Set.  I love their look. 

my-gw-monk-in-her-dress-armor.jpg

Dress armor dance:

my-gw-monk-dress-armor-dance.jpg

Dress armor dance 2:

my-gw-monk-dress-armor-dance-2.jpg

(Yeah, didn’t hit shift while taking this SS, but getting that pose again is unlikely.)

ETA:  This is a screenshot showing friends having fun.  I get teased, but they love me.  I do get to have fun sometimes, like Lava Baths.  They’ll (the friends I play GW and other MMORPGs with) move around and pose pretty for me so I can take more screenshots for my “photo album” too. 

i-never-get-to-have-fun.jpg

UPDATE!

Here are my monk’s updated skills, now that I know they don’t level out past a certain point. The two points in Smiting Prayers are either from my weapon or head tattoo.  Earlier I was running a smite build.  In any case, they are not points I have spent. 

my-gw-monk-attributes-new.jpg

5 responses to “My GW Monk “everyday” build

  1. I have a few suggestions. Please forgive me if am being too noisy.

    It is very difficult to be the only team healer, in fact, it is almost impossible (it is quite impressive that you solo monked V. Square mission with a little help from Brother Mhenlo). It would be best to bring another human or a Tachikoma hero. Two monks are sufficient for almost any area (sometimes you need three monks). If you are in a situation when you are the only monk on a team (e.g. Prophecies quest called Last Day Dawns) it would be best to be a hybrid monk: protection + healing. Just like in real life, prevention is less expensive than healing. You are brining your monk hero with you and you have a hybrid build, but it can be improved.

    Attributes:

    Based on your attributes, it looks like you are using TWO superior runes. Keep in mind that each superior runes takes away 75 hp. That means that you have -150hp of the normal health with your current set up. Why do you need 8 points in smiting if you don’t use smiting skills…

    One of the best combinations is 14-10-10:

    Divine: 9 + 1 (minor rune)
    Heal or Prot: 9 + 1 (minor rune)
    Prot or Heal: 12 + 1 (minor rune) + 1 (head set)

    Skills:

    Now I understand why you said you needed energy – your bar is very expensive, but you don’t have any energy management.

    Heal Party, Healing Seed, and Mend Condition are ok, but brining two resurrection skills is redundant, Convert Hexes is better on an Elementalist and hexes in PvE are not that evil, Shield of Regeneration is also an Elementalist skill, so Protective Spirit is a better non-elite alternative, Healing Breeze is not an efficient skill and better be left for farming or running builds.

    Mo/E WoH Hybrid

    Healing: 12 + 1 + 1
    Prot: 9 + 1
    Heal: 9 + 1

    Word of Healing (Elite)
    Dwayna’s Kiss
    Glyph of Lesser Energy
    Protective Spirit
    Aegis
    Cure Hex
    Dismiss Condition
    Rebirth

    Your Tahlkora could run a Healer’s Boon with Heal Party for a nice team heal or the same bar with Heal Party instead of Aegis.

    Having said all that, play how you want as long as you are having fun and getting things done 🙂 I have a monk guide on my website if you want to know more about monking.

    I love Snowfights too – can’t wait to play it again 🙂

    Third place in Dragon Throat is impressive 🙂 Screens of your monk dancing are very nice 🙂

  2. I have been known to pull out of smiting to put points in other places, but I was under the impression that really, the attributes cut off at about 12 or 13? That after that they don’t boost your skills any more? If that is not the case, then I will go 0 in smiting most days. (I’ll put more into Protection Prayers, and Healing Prayers, and Divine Favor if I can.) I don’t remember where I got the idea, I think a Monk from one of the good guilds (at that time) told me this as advice from a veteran to a person learning their role.

    You don’t know the warrioress I group with! Alexandria Crowley thought she was crazy in Dragon’s Throat. (I do need 2 rezzes, trust me, usually either me or Tahlkora need 2 rezzes, often both of us.) She ran in to engage groups, and we got that record. She’s a PC Devona, but smarter. She doesn’t randomly run off and attack things, she purposely does, and lets the group know what she’s doing. (She very smartly waits for the “mana check” to make sure I am full energy before engaging.)

    That build, is “preventative”. I hit the warrioress with Shield of Regeneration as she is running into battle, and I hit one of the casters with Healing Seed so they will heal the rest of the casters as they get hit. I also play with a crazy ranger, who loves to melee. I have to kiss boo boos before they happen, or as they happen not after. (Or I strive to, after is too late. But that’s why I have two rezzes, because sometimes both Ren and Serra get whalloped at the same time and I can only rescue one of them from death.) Sometimes I do get to go Smiting Monk, a little. Shield of Regen is da bomb! Remember, I go by the idea of preventative. Slap that on as the tank is engaging a group, (just as the enemy is raising their weapon to hit her) and you have time to get other spells off before you need to turn your attention back to the meat wall, er warrior. I use Healing Breeze to keep people up while I de-hex and de-cond people. Healing Breeze lasts a good while, re-casts quickly, doesn’t use much energy, and boosted via Divine Favor I have found it to be the best for the group I play with. (I think it is a most excellent Heal Over Time, if humble and downplayed by many.) If Serra is getting whalloped, and Ren has a cond I can hit Serra with Healing Breeze, fix Ren, Slap Healing Seed on the ele or necro again, then check Serra. Usually Healing Breeze is all that is needed. I intermingle slapping regen on people with the group heal to top the few off that are only hurt a little. Usually, I’m beside the necro henchie or hero, getting healed by Healing Seed.

    We know what the other is going to do, as they start to do it, or even before. (I got to the point I could predict exactly when she’d attack, and what/where she’d be so I could move to a place where she’d be in range of healing.) We are a “well oiled team”. It might not be conventional, how we do things, but we have fun as we do it. (I play with two others usually. Sometimes three or four others, but lately our Izzypop/Sir Aekold has been busy with RL things like work.) I was tempted to put up a screenshot showing group chat while we were getting our armor infused. I think I will, look to the bottom of the entry in a bit I’ll post it. We play to have fun, and do things in our own way. What I do, might not work for anyone else, but it works for Serra and Ren and I. (And Sir Aekold, or Rain if he joins us.)

  3. Thank you for your very detailed reply 🙂

    [Duplicate post text removed, KatK. Don’t want to delete the comment and let Askimet think they are a spammer, so keeping the comment, but paring it down. S’ok Kitsune. *smile*]

    Good luck in your adventures 🙂

  4. Thank you for your very detailed reply 🙂

    “I was under the impression that really, the attributes cut off at about 12 or 13”

    The attributes range from 0-16 and most skills get added benefits at higher rank. I think what that monk meant is that it is good enough to have 14 in your main attribute. Here is an example of Heal Party http://wiki.guildwars.com/wiki/Heal_Party

    If you use many enchantments it would be nice to have a weapon with Enchanting mod: 20% longer enchantments. For example, Protective Spirit lasts 22 seconds at 14 protection prayers, but it will last 26 seconds if you have 20% enchantment mod on your weapon.

    “She’s a PC Devona, but smarter….I also play with a crazy ranger, who loves to melee ”

    Sounds like you play with really fun people 🙂

    “We know what the other is going to do, as they start to do it, or even before. ”

    I think that is the key. Having teammates that know each other well is great. I find it one of the best experiences in GW when you play with people you know and can predict what they will do – your team acts as one. Good partner monks really know each other well and can predict each other in difficult situations.

    Good luck in your adventures 🙂

  5. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

