Spring in SE Kansas

The Mr. and I went on a hike at Elk City Resevoir, and I bought 2 disposable cameras to take pictures.  We took the intermediate trail, that is why you will see blue paint marks on trees in some pictures.  I am putting the pictures in the order they were taken that day, with a Kodak 800 speed Fun Camera.  (Disposable…) The only grump I have about those particular cameras is, you couldn’t choose to have the flash on or off, it always went off.  This made it so I had to edit (almost) every photo to put back the color and turn down the brightness so the pictures would look more like they did that day.  Most of them are right, one or two aren’t quite. 

  

Suprisingly, there weren’t swarms of butterflies at this tree.  Instead, they were down the trail, where the violets were, landing on the mud but not holding still enough for me to really get a picture of them.  I counted at least five different butterflies, and moths too. The pictures of the ladybug, spider, and lizard didn’t come out. 

 

You can just see D’s fingers holding the branch down a little so I can get a picture of it.  It had such a pretty shape, I wanted to photograph it, and show the buds on its tip. 

There were Hawks, Turkey Buzzards, and I think Ospreys circling on the thermals out there, but they were beginning to circle too far away by the time I’d gotten to a clear spot to try to get a picture.

Looking out over the waters, it didn’t show up in the picture, but it was very windy, there were white caps visible. 

 

This plant’s leaves (petals?) were really red, and were a stunning contrast against the geen moss.  The camera’s flash washed out most of the red in this picture, but if you look in the lower right quadrant you can see some leaves (petals?) from the same plant, in a darker crimson shade than those were. 

  

This plant was very pretty, it was so green and leafy.

 

 

Sweet Violets…

You can see the trail we took wound down and around the overlook’s hill. 

  

I loved this stone’s texture, and the grass growing on it. 

 

I worried that this picture wouldn’t come out, I had to look almost straight up to take it. 

 

The Mr. scrambled up on a rock face opposite the plants to get some more direct pictures of them.  The trail wended around and amongst the rocks, sometimes over/through. 

 

A Nature Made Wall…

 

 

  

A Mossy Rock, the moss was a deep, vibrant green. 

 A Mossy Rock

 

 

Through an opening in the rocks.  This spot is very cool and refreshing in the Summer.  It gets hot in this area, the sun warms the rock faces, so permanently shady spots are good resting points. 

 

 

The trail led around the crevice, not through this one.  I just liked how these rocks looked.

 

 

 

 

I don’t know if that reddish/russet streak across the ground is from sun glare, or if it is iron deposits from where water flows when it rains.  I didn’t notice it at the time I took the picture. 

 

I ran out of pictures before we finished the hike.  Next time I will have to bring more film.  I’d love to get a nice camera, either digital or a good 35mm camera.  One day…  For now, I have fun with disposable cameras.  

7 responses to “Spring in SE Kansas

  1. What an interesting place to hike! I like those rocks too, and the natural wall is fascinating. It looks like your spring is in full swing already!

  2. Cautiously, I’ll say “Yes, Spring is here.” *BUT* we had some late cold snaps. Often there’d be more flowers in bloom t han there were, but it kept warming a little, then going really cold again. Then we had a rainy/cold spell, the 13th was the first chance we really had this Spring to go out and get pictures of the Kansas Springtime. Central Kansas, where I am from is flatter than this, watching a thunderstorm out there is beautiful, you get a panoramic view of Nature’s Fireworks. I really like the Elk City resevoir though. It’s good for watching the stars/meteor showers too. Peaceful.

  3. It’s nice to have a description of a trail available. Here we have lots of trails, but only one or two that have descriptions, distances, etc. For the others we have to try to judge the distances on a Forest map, and it’s hard to come close. One I hiked looked like 5 miles on the map, but then it also climbed a mile in elevation, making it 6.

  4. Eek, yeah, that would be hard to gauge. I’d go more by “How much up/downhilling is there to do?” than actual distance. Next month the columbines should be blooming out there. It’ll be hotter though, we’ll either have to hike in the early morning, or later in the evening so I can manage. I can’t go out hiking on the intermediate trail at all in July and August. I can’t take that heat for long. We finished the hike about 4:oo PM this last time. We didn’t go very fast, I kept pausing to look at things and take pictures. Also, I’ve got a knee that I can’t push too hard and make the distance over “scrambling” paths. But, it is getting stronger, and I am making the hike better. *smile*

  5. love the pictures!….looks like a great place for a hike….you did an excellent job in editing the color, imo….the pictures look great…

  6. Thank you for sharing such lovely pictures of your hike.

Leave a Reply

